Another Blog About Why My Wife Is Awesome

So as most of you now know, Krystal and I are soon going to be parents!! We are both very excited and have been blown away by all the support and well wishes we have received since making the big announcement. Of course, this means I get to start another blog- you can follow Hackmeisters In Seattle to keep up to date with our adventures in pregnancy and parenthood! All being said, this post is not about the baby, it is about how incredibly cool my wife is and how she absolutely nailed one of the biggest moments in our lives.

First of all, most of you know that Krystal and I have been pretty vocal about never having children. We have been together since 1998 and have always agreed on this point. So when we decided, mutually, that we had changed our minds- it was a BIG deal. There are probably many reasons for this change of heart- the move to Seattle and the happiness that has brought, the relative financial security we have established, the inevitable desire to reproduce that comes with age…but probably the biggest change has been watching our close friends enter parenthood and have a great time doing so. Billy, Julie, Tyler, Danielle, Garret, Katie, Raf and Katy- THANK YOU!

So, we decided that we wanted a baby. It was now just a matter of time….and then I left town.

As some of you know (or have read about), every year my Dad and I pick a different city to meet in and go to a hockey game. We have been to Denver for a Coyotes game and have seen the Canucks play in Chicago, Boston, Minnesota and this year, New Jersey. I was very excited about this trip, Krystal wasn’t thrilled about missing a Canucks game or about missing a trip to New York City, but all was well. And then, the morning before I left for Phoenix to meet up with my Dad, Krystal casually mentions that there is a possibility she is pregnant. We had only been trying for a month or two, so this came as a pretty good shock! Of course I was ready to run out and buy any and all at-home pregnancy tests available, but Krystal was convinced that it was too early and that if nothing changed, we would test when I got home the next week. So off I went on a trip I had been planning for months, with the idea of Krystal possibly being pregnant hanging over my head. Dad and I had a great time, but I couldn’t stop thinking about the huge, life changing event that could possibly be happening back in Seattle.

Of course this means that Krystal was still home in Seattle, with the same thoughts, but by herself. And after a few days, the pressure got to her and she decided to test. Of course, the test was positive- she was pregnant!! And, being the amazing person she is, she set out to tell me in the best way possible.

When I got off the plane in Seattle, completely nerve wrack by this point, the plan was for me to take the light rail downtown and meet Krystal for lunch. When I got to her office, she showed me her new cubicle and we decided where to go to lunch. Never did she give me any indication that she had big news for me. When we got to the restaurant, we were seated and Krystal, very casually takes off her jacket to reveal….

This wasn’t taken that day, I have made her wear the shirt a few times since

The greatest shirt ever!! I nearly swallowed my tongue at this point, but that is when my fatherhood experience began. Thank you Danielle for being there for Krystal when she found out, and for holding on to the shirt we got you for last year’s Canucks playoff run. Without you, this would be a much less interesting story!

3 Replies to “Another Blog About Why My Wife Is Awesome”

  1. Jeff, I could be happier for you two!! Congratulations on this momentous gift. I can only hope my future story is as good as yours when my time comes! I can’t wait to congratulate you in person.

Leave a comment